Import Wizard


Edit

Introduction

There are several ways to open the Import Wizard: you can either go to File -> Import, press the Import button (to the right of the Options menu) or click on the Import button in the lower part of the pictoGEO tab.

The import wizard

The import wizard


The Import Wizard allows you to import pictures stored on your digital camera, memory card, external hard drive, CD/DVD, etc. Provided you have a pictoGEO license, you can also import the GPS data recorded by your GPS data logger or stored in a file (NMEA format) to a trip. Another option is to use a trip to automatically assign a position to your images. To determine the location where your pictures were taken, the recording times of the pictures are compared to the information gathered about the imported trip. Before you can benefit from pictoGEO's features, you must enter the license key you purchased in the right part on the Import Wizard’s first page. To unlock pictoGEO, click on the button labeled Unlock pictoGEO and enter your license key in the popup text field. You can also paste the key into the field from the clipboard by pressing CTRL + V. The key is verified and stored after you press Activate pictoGEO. Please note that pictoGEO's features will not be available until after you restart Pictomio.

Edit

Importing GPS Data

Use this part of the Wizard to import GPS data gathered with your GPS data logger or from an already existing file.

If you have already switched on your pictoGEO data logger and connected it to the USB port of your computer, the left option (load from device) should automatically be selected. If so, the used memory space on the device is displayed as well.

If you have not yet connected your pictoGEO data logger, you can do so now. Make sure that you switch on the device first (!) before connecting it to the PC. Proceed by clicking on the Connect button.

If you wish to import an NMEA file, click on Browse on the right and select the corresponding file. After clicking on Next, you can select the routes (trip portions) for import (by checking them). The Wizard assists you in selecting the right routes by leaving routes that have already been imported unchecked. Consequently, only those routes that have not been imported yet will be checked.

However, you can modify this automatic selection any way you want. The routes selected are shown to the right on the preview map. You can move the map by holding and pressing the mouse button or using the arrows in the navigation area (top left). The navigation area also includes “+” and “-“ buttons which let you zoom in and out. You can also zoom by using the mouse wheel, dragging with the Ctrl button pressed or drawing a zoom rectangle with the middle mouse button. If you want to view a route in more detail, simply click on the desired route from the list of routes. The map section will adjust automatically.

When importing from the pictoGEO data logger, you also have the option of deleting the data from the data logger after importing it. Deleting the data makes room for additional trip recordings. However, do not delete data unless you are certain that the import of your pictures was complete.

Routes

Routes


The next section lets you decide whether you would like to add the GPS data to an existing or new trip.

The default option is Create new trip and automatically assigns a new name to the trip that consists of the date of the trip. To add a trip data to an already existing trip, simply click on the drop-down menu on the left and select the trip of your choice. The option Add to an existing trip is turned on automatically.

Add

Add


Advanced filter options become available by folding out advanced settings at the bottom of the page. Use these settings to set a minimum time (in seconds) or distance (in meters) you want the waypoints to have. What is more, you can have any mavericks automatically deleted which, for example, came about by bad reception (for instance, inside buildings). pictoGEO can also save the trip data you imported to a file (NMEA format). This is particularly useful when importing data directly from the data logger. You can change the path to this file under “Save” or switch off the saving option altogether. You can re-import the file you saved by using the Import Wizard from within Pictomio.

Edit

Importing Pictures

Browse to the saving location in which the images you want to import are stored. This will usually be a removable medium (memory card or digital camera). You can select an individual image simply by clicking on it. If you want to select several files, use the Ctrl key (to add individual pictures to you selection) or press and hold the Shift key (to select all files from the currently selected picture to the one you are clicking on). If you want to import all files, simply click on the button Import all.

You can specify the saving location either by using an automatic structure in the My pictures or Shared pictures folder or manually by clicking on Browse. When the paths are generated automatically, Pictomio will use the date on which the photos were taken. The checkbox Delete images after transfer is intended for the import from external storage media to, for example, make room for new pictures on digital cameras after the images have been imported. Please note that the files will then only exist in their destination after they have been imported. If you want to keep the files for now, you can leave them on the source medium and delete them manually at a later time.

If you turn on the checkbox Exclude duplicates, all photos already stored in the database will automatically be excluded from import. The corresponding duplicates are given a small exclusion symbol at the top right corner.

Edit

Trip Association

There are different trip association options depending on the selection you make on the Welcome page of the Wizard. If you have imported a trip and chosen trip association, you can now select the pictures to be assigned. The currently imported trip is pre-selected and cannot be changed.

Associate

Associate


Any other selection on the Welcome page will pre-select the currently imported pictures, which allows you to select the trips from the ones that match the corresponding time frame and you want to use to locate the pictures.

Associate

Associate


Both versions of the dialog box allow you to set the time of the pictures automatically to the time of the location where you took the pictures. This feature saves you the trouble of re-setting the camera time to the local time at your vacation location (as recommended) and ensures that your pictures will still be stored with the correct time after they are imported.